Interesting Facts About Saint Lucia, the Caribbean Island

Saint Lucia is an island situated in the Caribbean Sea, which is a popular vacation destination for thousands of people every year. However, not many people know much about this island. Here are 30 facts that can help you learn more about Saint Lucia and impress others.

The only “drive-in” volcano in the world, Sulphur Springs, is located in Saint Lucia.

Saint Lucia stretches over 238 square miles, with a length of 27 miles and a width of 14 miles.

The capital city of Saint Lucia is Castries.

Approximately 100,000 individuals live around the coasts of Saint Lucia, and an additional 60,000 people reside in Castries or the mainland.

The early Carib settlers initially named the island the Island of the Iguanas, which was later changed.

The French took over the island in 1660 after signing a treaty with the original Carib people, and it was first named Saint Lucy of Syracuse.

Around 85% of the Saint Lucian population are believed to be direct descendants of Africans, while the remaining 15% is made up mainly of English, French, mixed African, and Indian.

Saint Lucia is the first country to be named after a woman.

Saint Lucia is the second-largest island of the Windward Islands.

Between 1663 and 1667, England took control of Saint Lucia, sparking a long-term period of instability where the island changed hands a total of 14 times.

England had full control over Saint Lucia by 1814. By this time, it was known also as “Helen of the West Indies” due to the number of times control had been passed over.

Saint Lucia gained independence from Britain on February 22, 1979, establishing its own sovereignty.

“The Land, The People, The Light” became a motto after Saint Lucia became free from British rule.

The Saint Lucia Parrot, or Jacquot, cannot be found anywhere else in the world and is the island’s national bird.

Saint Lucia is a member state of the Commonwealth of Nations but is a sovereignty on its own.

The East Caribbean dollar is the currency of Saint Lucia.

Saint Lucia has been known for its agriculture for many years, with sugar cane being produced for decades (although mainly due to the slave trade). In 1964, Saint Lucia became popular for banana production, and less so for sugar cane.

English is the official language of Saint Lucia, although 95% of the population speaks Saint Lucian French or Patois. Furthermore, it is thought that roughly 20% of the population doesn’t speak English at all.

The “celebration of the language” is an annual event in Saint Lucia that celebrates the dialect French language.

Mount Gimie is Saint Lucia’s highest mountain, standing over 3,000 feet tall. Saint Lucia has more mountains than most other Caribbean islands and was formed as a result of volcanic activity.

The Pitons mountain range is a Saint Lucian landmark and a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Sir Dunstan St. Omer is a famous artist in Saint Lucia, and his visual artwork can be found in churches and among communities.

Saint Lucia attracts around 350,000 tourists per year and has a booming fishing industry that benefits the locals.

The world’s only “drive-in” volcano, Sulphur Springs, can be found in Saint Lucia.

The national song of Saint Lucia is known as “Sons and Daughters of Saint Lucia” and was composed by Charles Jesse. Derek Walcott, a renowned Saint Lucian born in Castries, received the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1992. Arthur Lewis, on the other hand, became the first black man to be awarded the Nobel Prize for Economics. Saint Lucia, with the exception of the Faroe Islands, has the highest number of Nobel laureates per capita. Tourists usually visit Roseau Valley, which is home to 21 different types of rum. Hewanorra Airport is the sole commercial airport in Saint Lucia, and many visitors arrive via cruise ships from other locations. Many Saint Lucians choose to marry later in life.


1. What is Saint Lucia?

Saint Lucia is a Caribbean island nation located in the eastern Caribbean Sea. It is known for its beautiful beaches, lush rainforests, and stunning mountainous landscape.

2. How big is Saint Lucia?

Saint Lucia is a small island, covering an area of just 238 square miles. However, despite its small size, it is home to a diverse range of flora and fauna, including rare bird species and exotic plants.

3. What is the capital city of Saint Lucia?

The capital city of Saint Lucia is Castries. It is a bustling port city, home to a vibrant market and a range of restaurants, bars, and shops.

4. What is the official language of Saint Lucia?

The official language of Saint Lucia is English. However, many locals also speak a Creole dialect known as Saint Lucian Creole French.

5. What is the currency of Saint Lucia?

The official currency of Saint Lucia is the Eastern Caribbean dollar. However, US dollars are widely accepted across the island, particularly in tourist areas.

6. What is the climate like in Saint Lucia?

Saint Lucia has a tropical climate, with warm temperatures and high humidity year-round. The island is also prone to hurricanes and tropical storms during the hurricane season, which runs from June to November.

7. What are some popular activities to do in Saint Lucia?

Visitors to Saint Lucia can enjoy a range of activities, including snorkeling, scuba diving, hiking, and zip-lining. The island is also home to a number of cultural attractions, including historic forts and churches.

8. What is the best time of year to visit Saint Lucia?

The best time to visit Saint Lucia is during the dry season, which runs from December to May. During this time, visitors can enjoy sunny weather and calm seas, making it the perfect time for outdoor activities and beach relaxation.

Rate article
Add a comment