Fun Facts About Sly Cooper

Since its release in 2002, the Sly Cooper franchise has received widespread critical acclaim as one of the best single-player platform games.

Sly Cooper has remained exclusively on PlayStation 2 until the first three games were remastered for PlayStation 3 as part of the Classic Collections series.

Sucker Punch Productions created the first game, Sly Cooper and the Thievius Raccoonus, in 2002. It’s a stealth platform game featuring Sly, a brave raccoon who tries to obtain his family’s book of thief secrets after the evil Clockwerk killed his parents.

The Fiendish Five

With the help of his friends, a green computer wizard turtle named Bentley, and a pink driving heavyweight hippopotamus named Murray, Sly sets out to defeat Clockwerk and his minions, known as The Fiendish Five.

The Fiendish Five are responsible for keeping pages from The Thievius Raccoonus. They are Clockwerk, an ancient owl with a deep hatred of the Cooper family; Sir Raleigh, a privateering frog; Muggshot, an American bulldog with a gun; Mz. Ruby, a voodoo mystic alligator; and Panda King, a demolitions expert in the form of a panda.

Carmelita Fox, a persistent police officer intent on bringing Sly down, complicates their mission. However, things get even more complicated when they both develop feelings for each other.

Sly 2: Band of Thieves

Sly 2: Band of Thieves, released in 2004, follows Sly as he tries to stop The Klaww Gang from reconstructing mechanical Clockwerk.

The Klaww Gang consists of Constable Neyla, a tiger criminal turned police officer who wants to become Clock-La, a combination of Clockwerk and herself; Arpeggio, a parrot who builds self-powered flying machines; The Contessa, a black widow spider who poisons and brainwashes her victims; Dimitri, an iguana who forges art; Jean Bison, a bison with dreams of conquering small places; Rajan, a tiger who sells illegal substances; and General Clawfoot, a ticklish bat.

Honor Among Thieves

In Sly 3: Honor Among Thieves (2005), Sly discovers the location of his family’s great vault and sets out to secure his history. He recruits some of his once-feared enemies, including the Panda King, to help him.

Sly also meets new enemies, such as General Tsao, a Chinese rooster who uses dark magic; Black Spot Pete, a Macaw who loves to steal; Captain LeFwee, a Macaw who thinks he is extremely intelligent and a master swordsman; and Doctor M., a mandrill who gene-splices and is an original member of the first-ever Cooper gang.

Did you know?

In 2013, Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time was released.

Sly uses his cane throughout the games for pickpocketing villains, balance, and as a weapon.

All of the games follow the same style as the first game, with a main heist followed by mini-games and boss battles.

Spin-Off Comics for Promotion

GamePro Magazine and DC Comics collaborated to create spin-off comics, which incorporated features from the second and third games, to promote the series.


1. What is Sly Cooper?

Sly Cooper is a video game series that follows the adventures of a master thief named Sly Cooper, who is also a raccoon. The series includes four main games and a spin-off, and was developed by Sucker Punch Productions. The games are known for their cartoonish, cel-shaded graphics and their emphasis on stealth gameplay.

2. Who created Sly Cooper?

The Sly Cooper series was created by Sucker Punch Productions, a video game development studio based in Bellevue, Washington. The studio was founded in 1997 and has also developed the Infamous series of games. The first Sly Cooper game was released in 2002 for the PlayStation 2.

3. What are some of Sly Cooper’s abilities?

Sly Cooper is known for his agility and his ability to sneak past enemies undetected. He is also skilled in pickpocketing, lock-picking, and hacking. In addition, he has a number of gadgets at his disposal, such as a cane that can be used as a weapon, a grappling hook, and a smoke bomb.

4. Who are some of the other characters in the Sly Cooper series?

Other main characters in the series include Bentley, a turtle who serves as Sly’s tech expert and provides him with gadgets; Murray, a hippopotamus who is Sly’s muscle and helps him in combat; and Carmelita Fox, a police officer who is also Sly’s love interest and sometimes his rival.

5. What is the plot of the Sly Cooper series?

The series follows Sly Cooper and his gang as they pull off heists and try to outwit their enemies, such as the fiendish Clockwerk, a giant robotic owl who seeks revenge on the Cooper family. The series also explores the backstory of the Cooper family and the legacy of thievery that Sly has inherited.

6. What makes the Sly Cooper series unique?

The Sly Cooper series stands out for its distinctive art style, which combines cartoonish characters with a film noir-inspired visual aesthetic. The games also emphasize stealth gameplay and puzzle-solving, as well as the use of gadgets and abilities to navigate the game’s environments. Additionally, the series features a wide cast of memorable characters and a compelling storyline that spans multiple games.

7. Is there a future for the Sly Cooper series?

As of now, there has been no official announcement of a new Sly Cooper game. However, fans of the series remain hopeful that a new installment will be released in the future. In the meantime, the existing games are still popular among gamers and continue to be enjoyed by fans of the series.

Rate article
Add a comment