Interesting Facts About the First Starter Pokémon

Did you know that Charmander became disobedient after evolving because his skill level was too high for Ash to handle?

Since its inception in 1996, the Pokémon franchise has produced many games.

When playing these games as a trainer, you must choose a starter Pokémon unless you are Ash Ketchum. In that case, you will be given an electric mouse, Pikachu!

But out of the three starting Pokémon, which one will you pick?


Bulbasaur is the first grass-type starter. It is also classified as a grass/poison seed Pokémon.

Its name means “bulb dinosaur.” The bulb on its back stores energy for attack and defensive moves and was planted there at birth.

Bulbasaur evolves into Ivysaur, which then evolves into Venusaur.

Ash’s Bulbasaur refused to evolve after the process had already begun, and it sang “Bulbasaur’s Bulbabye” to keep Togepi happy.


Charmander is the first fire-type starter and is also classified as a fire lizard Pokémon.

Its name means “charcoal salamander.” When its flame is extinguished, it will die (although this never happened in the anime or manga).

Charmander evolves into Charmeleon, which then evolves into Charizard.

When Charmander evolved, Ash had trouble handling its high skill level, and it became disobedient. After nursing it back to health, Charizard began to obey commands.

Male and female Charmanders are indistinguishable.


Squirtle is the first water-type Pokémon.

Its name could mean “squirting turtle” or “squirrel turtle” due to its appearance.

After birth, its back swells and later hardens to form its shell. Squirtle is mischievous and shoots foam from its mouth.

Squirtle evolves into Wartortle, which then evolves into Blastoise.

Ash’s Squirtle was the original leader of the “Squirtle Squad” and is playable in the Super Smash Bros. Brawl game with Ivysaur and Charizard.


1. What are the original starter Pokémon?

The original starter Pokémon are Bulbasaur, Charmander, and Squirtle. They were introduced in the first generation of the Pokémon video games, which were released in Japan in 1996 and internationally in 1998.

2. Which starter Pokémon is the strongest?

Each of the original starter Pokémon has its own strengths and weaknesses, and there is no definitive answer to which one is the strongest. However, Charmander evolves into Charizard, which is one of the most popular and powerful Pokémon in the series.

3. Where do the names of the starter Pokémon come from?

The names of the starter Pokémon are a combination of different words and meanings. Bulbasaur comes from “bulb,” which refers to the plant on its back, and “dinosaur.” Charmander is a combination of “char,” which means burnt, and “salamander.” Squirtle is a combination of “squirrel” and “turtle.”

4. Are there any rare versions of the starter Pokémon?

Yes, there are rare versions of the starter Pokémon that can be obtained through special events or promotions. For example, there is a shiny version of each starter Pokémon, which has a different color scheme than the regular version.

5. What are the starter Pokémon’s types?

Bulbasaur is a grass/poison type, Charmander is a fire type, and Squirtle is a water type. Each type has its own strengths and weaknesses in battle.

6. What are the starter Pokémon’s signature moves?

Each starter Pokémon has a signature move that it can learn. Bulbasaur’s move is “Frenzy Plant,” Charmander’s move is “Blast Burn,” and Squirtle’s move is “Hydro Cannon.”

7. How have the starter Pokémon evolved in the Pokémon series?

The starter Pokémon have evolved in many ways throughout the Pokémon series. They have gained new moves, abilities, and forms, and have become some of the most iconic and recognizable characters in the franchise.

Rate article
Add a comment