Interesting Facts About the Second Generation Starter Pokémon

It may surprise you to learn that in the Pokémon anime, Ash Ketchum had to battle Misty to keep Totodile.

While Ash, Misty, and Brock traveled to many regions, including the Indigo Islands and the Orange Archipelago, they first encountered the three new starter Pokémon in Johto.

Now it’s your turn to choose your starter in the Johto region.


Chikorita is the first grass starter in Johto and is known as the “little flowering plant” Pokémon.

Its leafy head can create vines and leaves, release healing scents, and monitor the temperature and humidity of its surroundings.

Chikorita was one of the first Pokémon caught by Ash and became very attached to him, refusing to battle Pikachu.


Cyndaquill is the first fire starter in Johto and is classified as a “fire-mouse” Pokémon.

When defending itself, flames erupt from its back, and it can also use smoke to conceal itself.

Ash’s Cyndaquill was initially lazy and weak, but after evolving into Quilava, it became more serious and focused.


Totodile is the first water starter in Johto and is known as the “big-jaw” Pokémon.

It has sharp teeth and can even bite with icy force, yet it is also playful and known for nipping its trainers in excitement.

Ash’s Totodile was the last of the starters to join his team and became quite popular, even causing Ash to battle Misty for the right to keep it.

After battles, Totodile was known for its victory dances, often breaking out into jigs and spins.


What are the second generation starter Pokémon?

The second generation starter Pokémon are Chikorita, Cyndaquil, and Totodile. They were first introduced in the Pokémon Gold and Silver games, which were released in 1999.

What types are the second generation starter Pokémon?

Chikorita is a Grass-type Pokémon, Cyndaquil is a Fire-type Pokémon, and Totodile is a Water-type Pokémon. Each of them has their own unique strengths and weaknesses in battle.

What are some notable facts about the second generation starter Pokémon?

Chikorita is the only Grass-type starter Pokémon that is not part Poison-type. Cyndaquil’s flames on its back are said to be an indication of its health, and it can become very weak if they go out. Totodile is known for its powerful jaws, which it uses to crush its opponents.

Can the second generation starter Pokémon evolve?

Yes, all three of the second generation starter Pokémon can evolve. Chikorita evolves into Bayleef, Cyndaquil evolves into Quilava, and Totodile evolves into Croconaw. They can then further evolve into their final forms.

Rate article
Add a comment